Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic /

Monthly Archives: December 2009

The legendary hip hop duo Reflection Eternal, made up of Talib Kweli and Hi Tek, teams up with another vet, Mos Def, and two rookies, J.Cole and Jay Electronica.  How could a track with all these names on it not be this good?  Reflection Eternal will be dropping their mixtape on the last night of the decade.

Download HERE

Here’s a track off of Midi and the Modern Dance’s recent album “Twilight, How Sweet You Are”.  I just listened to this album (which I would definitely suggest you pick up), and this is one of my favorite tracks off of it.  They are currently working on a new album.

Download the song HERE

Visit their myspace HERE

Buy their album HERE

Over the past few weeks, the new band Broken Bells, consisting of James Mercer of The Shins and the versatile producer Danger Mouse, has been building up their own hype with mysterious emails and websites, and a few days ago they finally released their fist single.

Continue reading this article ›

Out of all the independent bands who released records in 2009 Midi and the Modern Dance was one of the most looked over bands even though they deserved attention more then most of the lo-fi and chillwave projects that dominated this year.  Midi is a breath of fresh air in the indie world as they have created an undeniable unique sound without conforming to a set genre. 

Continue reading this article ›

Here is the great new video from arguably the best track off Julian Casablancas’s debut solo album. In the video we see Casa traveling through time and showing off some clever dance moves.

Here’s the new track from newly-formed duo The Broken Bells, consisting of James Mercer of The Shins and Gnarls Barkley producer Danger Mouse.

Download HERE

Here’s a newly released track from Wale produced by Osinachi, the producer behind Wale’s track “Nike Boots”.  This was recorded about 2 and a half years ago and was originally meant to be the intro for his debut album, but that didn’t work out, so here it is now.

Download HERE


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.