Skip to content

The Up-Turn

@TheUpTurnMusic /

Daily Archives: 10/21/2009

NYC band Yeasayer announce Sophmore follow-up to the highly praised All Hour Cymbals which is to be entitled Odd Blood.  The band has signed with Secretly Canadian to release the album February 9th early next year.

[Track list below]

01 The Children
02 Ambling Alp
03 Madder Red
04 I Remember
05 ONE
06 Love Me Girl
07 Rome
08 Strange Reunions
09 Mondegreen
10 Grizelda

The unlikely duo of a Malawi-born singer and a European DJ team up for one of the best Album’s of the year so far.  The Album is absolutely overflowing with enthusiasm and joy.  Whether it be matched with Ezra Koenig from Vampire Weekend or MIA this band has one of the freshest aproaches to pop of the last decade.  Most of the songs are sung in Chichewa, Mwamwaya’s native language.  And even through the language barrier it is undeniably one of the most fun and greatest albums of 2009 thus far.

Highlights include- Warm Heart of Africa, Yalira, Kamphopo and Julia


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.